fear, Travel

A Fear You’ve Overcome: My Journey Beyond Acrophobia

Embracing the Heights: How I Overcoming My Fear of Heights Fear of heights(acrophobia) has always been a nightmare for me. I’m terrified of climbing up stairs with no railing, and I’m also very afraid of standing on high places and looking down. Standing up high gives me a dizzying sense of panic. Because of my fear of heights, I can’t climb mountains, skydive, or do anything on high ground. This panic plagued me for a long time because I wanted to stand up high and see beautiful scenery and try activities I hadn’t tried before. About 1 year ago, my friends decided to go to Jade Dragon Snow Mountain and invited me to go with them. Because of my fear of heights, I have missed many times this opportunity to be able to climb the mountain and I didn’t want to miss it again. I decided to overcome and it was a journey of challenge, discovery and ultimate spiritual liberation.

The challenge began Located in Yunnan, Jade Dragon Snow Mountain is known for its majestic peaks and breathtaking views. Jade Dragon Snow Mountain is 5,596m above sea level and has dragon in its name because it looks like a silver-white dragon from a distance. The height of Jade Dragon Snow Mountain is an intimidating place for those who are afraid of heights like me. However, I have resolved not to let fear dictate my life.

My Exercise In order to successfully climb Jade Dragon Snow Mountain, I needed to do some training for myself before I went. I began by challenging myself to climb the small hills and low roofs of my hometown. Each step upward was a battle between my desire to overcome obstacles and the inner fears that had plagued me for years. I would often shake and sweat from fear as I made my way upward, but I persevered for the goal of climbing. In addition to physical training, I would look up information about fear of heights and read books about fear management and overcoming fear of heights. Reading about fear management strategies and watching videos helped me realize that my fear was a natural reaction that could be managed and controlled. I recommend reading the book “Overcoming Fear of Heights” by Karen Rowa and Martin M. Antony. This book effectively provides the causes and solutions to the fear of heights.

I also looked up a lot of tips to help me overcome my fear of heights. First of all, I should understand my fear and I need to look at my fear rationally. I should understand that when I try an activity such as skydiving, its safety margin is high. The odds are that such activities are not going to kill me. Secondly, I need to try to keep gaining altitude to help me gradually acclimatize to the altitude. Lastly, I should try to relax myself, take deep breaths, and not think about the altitude all the time.

Also, if you want to learn more about how to overcoming the fear of the height, here’s a video showing you how to overcome fear by OnlyGood TV on YouTube

The Turning Point
The real test came when I faced the trail. Each rocky trail and steep overlook tested my resolve. There were countless times I wanted to give up. However, when I thought about my determination to get to the top of the mountain and with my previous experience and the support of my family, I found myself moving forward, slowly weakening the overwhelming force that had once been exerted over me. I realized that my training and reading was working, and at least I wasn’t as scared as I had been at first about the height. The moment of triumph
After passing numerous overlooks, I finally reached the top of the mountain. Standing there, overlooking the world below, I felt awe and pride. I faced my fears head on and emerged victorious. I realized that I would slowly forget my fears, especially when I saw such a beautiful view.

Lessons Learned and Looking Forward
Overcoming my fear of heights taught me more than just how to deal with heights. It showed me the power of resilience and the importance of facing my fears. I learned that our fears, no matter how daunting, do not define us, but rather provide opportunities for growth.
This experience has opened up new avenues for my life’s adventures. I now look forward to exploring more mountains, both literally and metaphorically. With a heart full of courage, I will open my eyes to the beauty and challenges they hold.

Do Not Afraid
For anyone struggling with fear, know that your fear doesn’t have to be your limit. With the right approach and support, it is possible to reclaim your life from the clutches of fear and embrace a world of possibilities.

Do you have a fear that you’ve overcome? I’d love to hear your story. Share your experience in the comments below or connect with me via social media. Let’s inspire each other with our stories of courage and triumph!

Leave a comment