love, pets

A Life Lesson I’ll Never Forget: Responsibility and Love

It all started on an ordinary walk, and an unforgettable moment came when I found a kitten struggling in the water, drowning. She was very small in stature and appeared to be less than a year old. Driven by conscience, my family and I saved her from the brink of death. We named her “Orange” after her vibrant fur.

Although my parents did not agree to keep her with us at first, her adorable antics eventually won over my reluctant parents. I adopted Orange three years ago, and although I always wanted Orange to stay, I couldn’t afford to take care of her without a source of income, so my parents have been responsible for Orange’s expenses since she stayed. I always wanted Orange to stay with us, but the financial burden of caring for her fell on my parents.

For a while, I didn’t feel the burden of responsibility, even though I was the one pleading with her to stay. However, a life lesson came to me. That changed dramatically when Orange disappeared and returned a week later, revealing her secret pregnancy. Soon after, she gave birth to six kittens. Although I was not responsible for the expenses of these kittens, the reality of caring for so many pets put a strain on me and my parents. We decided to find homes for these kittens. This plan was initially successful, but quickly fell apart when five kittens were returned and we had no choice but to care for them together. I named the kittens “Night”, “No Gloves”, “Bitey”, and “Big Head”.

Initially, I didn’t feel pressured by the presence of so many cats, as I had no direct responsibility for them. However, the harsh reality hit when “Big Head” died of feline distemper, a disease that spread to several other cats in our care. My mom give a bath to cats, but they are very afraid of water, so when they take a bath they stress out.(they might got feline distemper when they feel stressed.) The cost of treatment was really high, and the burden on my parents weighed heavily on me, causing a deep sense of guilt to rise within me. I had never considered the financial impact of these cats’ lives, and I was unable to contribute financially.

This moment of crisis was a profound wake-up call for me to realize the responsibility that comes with owning a pet and the consequences of my decision. Feeling guilty for relying on my parents’ resources because of the situation I instigated. I had never considered the expenses of these cats, and I wasn’t really in a position to pay for them. I felt a deep sense of powerlessness, and using my parents’ money to treat several cats left behind because of my stubbornness made me feel guilty. I realized that I was responsible for these cats and that I needed to take care of them, not leave them with my parents. I borrowed money from my parents and promised I would get a job and pay them back. But unfortunately, Big Head passed away because he didn’t get timely treatment. I realized that it was my irresponsibility that led to his passing.

Big Head’s death was a stark lesson about the fragility of life and the weight of responsibility. It made me realize that my actions and decisions have a direct impact on the lives of those in my care. The experience taught me the true meaning of responsibility – not only in terms of financial commitment, but also in recognizing the emotional and physical well-being of others, whether they are human or animal.


Looking back, the cats taught me a lesson. It taught me that love and responsibility are intertwined and make up the essence of life. The heartache of loss and the burden of guilt transformed into a powerful lesson in the importance of taking ownership of our responsibilities and the impact of our choices on the lives we touch.

Through the poignant goodbyes, I was taught a life lesson I will never forget: responsibility is the cornerstone of love, and with it comes the responsibility to protect, nurture, and sometimes even let go.

Leave a comment